Statement of Purpose

Canada does not have anything approaching a viable nationalist movement. Or anything approaching America’s Alt-Right. Or the European Nouveau Droit.

We have a far-left party in the NDP, a centre-left party in the Liberals, and a centre-right party in the Conservatives. There used to be a few farther-right options, but even they barely left the territory of centre-right, and they were pulled to the left when they merged into the Conservatives.

I think a big part of the lack of a far-right (or even just fully right) party in Canadian politics is a lack of anyone talking about that position and how the intellectual frameworks of the right elsewhere can be applied to the Canadian situation. We have people like Mark Steyn representing a solidly right position, but despite the fact that he would be considered mainstream in America, in Canada he is seen by many as extreme. Mark Steyn can only be seen as extreme when there is nothing further right to compare him to. Free Northerner is further right, but he blogs from Canada, and says little about Canada.

With all of that in mind, the purpose of Northern Reaction is to try to shift the Overton Window in Canada just a bit further right.

There are two driving ideas behind this blog (besides the usual stuff) that will inform some of the content here.

The first is Hanlon’s Razor: “Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity.” This idea is just about the only thing that keeps me sane on a day to day basis. If I was to assume that every harmful or awful thing that politicians and academics do was done through malice, I would not be able to get anything done. By assuming stupidity, I can trust in the idea that if these people knew what they were doing wrong, they would not be doing it. That lets me keep going and hoping that, one day, minds could be changed.

The other idea is a quote from The Simpsons: “I may not know art, but I know what I hate.” I don’t have a comprehensive theory of government. I don’t know whether democracy is good generally, could be good in theory, or will never be good. I don’t know how much of IQ difference is genetic. But I know I communism is not the solution to government. I know that democracy is not always good. And I know that genetics account for something in IQ difference. So if some days this blog seems more Alt-Right, and on others more Neoreactionary or libertarian, it is because I’m not really advocating for a particular position, but rather against the things I hate.

So join me in my exploration of history, culture, politics and literature, all from a Canadian perspective.

I will try to post once per week, but I’ve never done this before, so bear with me while I find my feet.

Leave a Reply

